Vetting of Akufo-Addo’s ministerial nominees begins Feb. 10

The Appointments Committee of Parliament has scheduled Wednesday, February 10, 2021, to commence public vetting of the ministerial nominees submitted to the Speaker of Parliament by the President of the Republic of Ghana, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo.

The Ranking Member of the Committee and Minority Leader, Haruna Iddrisu, speaking on the floor of the House on Friday, January 29, 2021, said the Committee is likely to prioritize the appearance of the Minister of Health-designate, Kwaku Agyeman Manu first, considering the novel coronavirus situation in the country.

“The Appointments Committee has met, and we are requesting for public memoranda in respect of all the president’s nominees for all the ministerial positions. We are expected to commence vetting on the 10th of February. Priority will be given to some ministers, in particular Health because of the COVID situation in the country, and probably he will be the first minister to be considered by our committee followed by those other ministers of National Security and Finance. Our clerk is working to get the publication to all the media houses,” he said.

At least some 46 persons have been nominated to fill various ministerial portfolios including regional ministers in President Nana Akufo-Addo’s second term of office.

Below is the full ministerial nominees:

Central Government

                   MINISTRY                           NAME
1National SecurityAlbert Kan Dapaah
2FinanceKen Ofori-Atta
3Trade and IndustryAlan Kyerematen
4DefenceHon. Dominic Nitiwul, MP
5InteriorHon. Ambrose Dery, MP
6Foreign Affairs & Regional IntegrationShirley Ayorkor Botchwey
7Attorney General and Minister for JusticeGodfred Dame
8Local Government, Decentralization & Rural DevelopmentHon. Dan Botwe, MP
9Parliamentary AffairsHon. Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu, MP
10Communications and DigitisationHon. Ursula Owusu-Ekuful, MP
11Food and AgricultureDr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto
12EnergyHon. Dr. Matthew Opoku Prempeh, MP
13EducationHon. Dr. Yaw Osei Adutwum, MP
14HealthHon. Dr. Kwaku Agyemang Manu, MP
15Lands and Natural ResourcesHon. Samuel Abdulai Jinapor, MP
16Roads and HighwaysHon. Kwesi Amoako-Atta
17Works and HousingHon. Francis Asenso Boakye, MP
18TransportKwaku Ofori Asiamah
19Fisheries and Aquaculture DevelopmentHon. Mavis Hawa Koomson, MP
20Railway DevelopmentHon. John Peter Amewu, MP
21Sanitation and Water ResourcesCecilia Abena Dapaah
22Toursim, Arts and CultureAwal Mohammed
23Gender, Children and Social ProtectionHon. Sarah Adwoa Safo, MP
24Chieftaincy and Religious AffairsHon. Ebenezer Kojo Kum, MP
25Environment, Science, Technology & InnovationHon. Dr. Kwaku Afriyie, MP
26Employment and Labour RelationsHon. Ignatius Baffour Awuah, MP
27InformationHon. Kojo Oppong Nkrumah, MP
28Youth and SportsHon. Mustapha Yussif, MP
29Public EnterprisesHon. Joseph Cudjoe, MP
30Works and Housing (Minister of State)Hon. Freda Prempeh, MP


           REGION        NAME
1AhafoGeorge Boakye
2AshantiSimon Osei-Mensah
3BonoJustina Owusu-Banahene
4Bono EastAdu Gyan
5CentralJustina Marigold Assan
6EasternSeth Acheampong
7Greater AccraHon. Henry Quartey, MP
8NorthernShani Alhassan Saibu
9North EastYidana Zakaria
10OtiJoseph Makubu
11SavannahSaeed Muhazu Jibril
12Upper EastStephen Yakubu
13Upper WestDr. Hafiz Bin Salih
14VoltaDr. Archibald Yao Letsa
15WesternHon. Kwabena Okyere Darko Mensah, MP
16Western NorthRichard Obeng

Related posts

Leave a Reply